Forthcoming Events:

Sun - 21 Jul 19Church For Everyone at St Laurence, 9.45 for 10am
Thu - 25 Jul 19Horticultural Society members' garden visit
Tue - 30 Jul 19Bring your BABIES & CHILDREN to The Moot to enjoy this beautiful village open space and meet other people. Refreshments 10am-1pm.
Sat - 3 Aug 19MNDA Coffee Morning - White Horse 12.00 noon to 4.30pm
Mon - 5 Aug 19Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Sat - 17 Aug 19Hale Local Food Market
Tue - 27 Aug 19Bring your BABIES & CHILDREN to The Moot to enjoy this beautiful village open space and meet other p
Sat - 31 Aug 19Horticultural Society Autumn Show - 2pm at The Memorial Hall
Mon - 2 Sep 19Forest Edge Flower Arranging Society
Tue - 3 Sep 19Redlynch & District Local History Society meeting
Wed - 4 Sep 19Royal British Legion AGM - 7.30pm White Horse
Sat - 7 Sep 19Parish Council surgery at Memorial Hall, 9-10am
Mon - 9 Sep 19Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Thu - 12 Sep 19Baptist Church Weymouth Trip
Sat - 14 Sep 19Ride and Stride
Sun - 22 Sep 19Fun Dog Show in The Moot
Sat - 28 Sep 19Downton Goose Fair - St Laurence Church, 10.00am - 2.00pm
Mon - 14 Oct 19Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Wed - 6 Nov 19Royal British Legion AGM - 7.30pm White Horse
Mon - 11 Nov 19Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Thu - 21 Nov 19Horticultural Society AGM
Mon - 9 Dec 19Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Mon - 13 Jan 20Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Mon - 10 Feb 20Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Mon - 9 Mar 20Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Mon - 6 Apr 20Downton Parish Council Meeting - 7.30pm at the Bonvalot Room, Memorial Centre
Mon - 20 Apr 20Annual Parish Meeting, Memorial Hall, 7pm
Sat - 2 May 20Cuckoo Fair

Downton is a large ancient Wiltshire village situated 6 miles south of Salisbury, just outside the New Forest National park. It is a thriving community having its own schools, shops, pubs and businesses, village hall and recreation areas – including a football pitch, bowling green and leisure centre with a gym and tennis courts. There are over 20 clubs or societies and a popular village band. Every year the Cuckoo Fair attracts around 20,000 visitors to over 250 craft and other stalls, plus live music, dance and other entertainments. The village is also well known for its fishing, its award winning local brewery and as a centre for exploring the River Avon and New Forest.


History


People have lived in the Downton area for over 7,000 years, and evidence of Iron Age, Roman and Saxon settlements has been found. Early Neolithic finds and the remains of a Roman Villa (including a fine mosaic) are in Salisbury Museum.


The village of Downton has the earthworks of a Norman motte and bailey castle lying within 18th Century Moot landscaped gardens overlooking the river. The Moot is a scheduled monument and part of the village is a conservation area containing over 80 listed buildings.


Evidence of recent economic history (such as tanning and corn milling) can be seen in the old buildings and the mills that used to power local industry.

Environment


The Parish of Downton, sitting in the Avon Valley landscape, is characterised by chalk downlands and water meadows. It is predominantly rural with a landscape developed over many centuries of human activity. The village of Downton, straddling the River Avon, is an historic crossing point towards the southern end of the parish, .


To the north of the parish is the residential hamlet of Charlton All Saints, and to the east of the parish is Standlynch, additionally there are farms and scattered buildings within the rural area including the historic Trafalgar Park House.


















This site will ease access to the many specific websites relating to Downton (see Links), and provides a summary of amenities, facilities and events all in one place. To ensure your Event gets included, use the “Contact Us” page.

Downton Village





Version 7.1 Hit Ctr: 7/2019:701